Damian Mac Con Uladh

Archive for June, 2013|Monthly archive page

The Greek government (June 2013-)

In General, Greek crisis on 24 June 2013 at 11:36 pm

On 24 June 2013, Greece’s prime minister, Antonis Samaras, and his coalition partner in Pasok, Evangelos Venizelos, announced a new government. Here’s the full list. In transliterating names, I have tried to follow the versions used by the ministers themselves, although these are not always clear.

Prime Minister Antonis Samaras (ND)

Deputy Prime Minister Evangelos Venizelos (Pasok, also foreign minister)

Administrative Reform and E-Governance Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis (ND)

Alternate Evi Christofilopoulou (Pasok)

Culture and Sports Minister Panos Panagiotopoulos (ND)

Deputy Yannis Andrianos (ND)

Defence Minister Dimitris Avramopoulos  (ND)

Alternate Fofi Gennimata (Pasok)

Deputy Thanasis Davakis (ND)

Development Minister Kostis Hatzidakis (ND)

Deputy Thanasis Skordas (ND)

Deputy Notis Mitarakis (ND, responsible for private investment)

Education and Religious Affairs Minister Konstantinos Arvanitopoulos (ND)

Deputy Symeon Kedikoglou (Pasok)

Deputy Kostas Gioulekas (ND)

Environment, Energy & Climate Change Minister Yiannis Maniatis (Pasok)

Alternate Stavros Kalafatis (ND)

Deputy Asimakis Papageorgiou (ND, unelected. Former manager in energy sector)

Finance Minister Yannis Stournaras (technocrat, unelected)

Alternate Christos Staikouras (ND, responsible for public spending)

Deputy George Mavraganis (Responsible for revenue. Former tax expert with KPMG)

Foreign Minister Evangelos Venizelos (Pasok)

Deputy Dimitris Kourkoulas (technocrat, former European Commission official)

Deputy Akis Gerontopoulos (ND)

Health Minister Adonis Georgiadis (ND)

Deputy Antonis Bezas (ND)

Deputy Zetta Makri (ND) (The original nominee, Sofia Voultepsi (ND), announced on June 25 she would not be going forward)

Interior Minister Yannis Michelakis (ND)

Alternate Leonidas Grigorakos (Pasok)

Justice, Transparency and Human Rights Minister Haralambos Athanassiou (ND, former Areios Pagos judge and head of the Union of Judges and Prosecutors (EDE))

Labour, Social Security and Welfare Minister Yiannis Vroutsis (ND)

Deputy Vasilis Kegeroglou (Pasok)

Macedonia-Thrace Minister Theodoros Karaoglou (ND)

Public Order and Citizen Protection Minister Nikos Dendias (ND)

Rural Development and Food Minister Athanasios Tsaftaris (technocrat, prof of genetics and plant breeding)

Alternate Maximos Harakopoulos (ND)

Shipping Minister Miltiadis Varvitsiotis (ND)

Tourism Minister Olga Kefalogianni (ND)

Transport and Infrastructure Minister Michalis Chrisochoidis (Pasok)

Deputy Michalis Papadopoulos (ND)

State Minister Dimitris Stamatis (ND)

Government spokesman Simos Kedikoglou (ND)

Deputy Minister for Public Radio and Television Pantelis Kapsis

Parliamentary speaker Vangelis Meimarakis (ND)